Press Release – WNC Sheriffs Back Cawthorn for Congress

WNC Sheriffs Back Cawthorn for Congress

(HENDERSONVILLE, N.C.) — The Cawthorn for NC Campaign has  announced that a number of Western North Carolina sheriffs have provided endorsement of Madison Cawthorn to win North Carolina’s 11th Congressional District seat left vacant by the resignation of Mark Meadows.


“I am very proud to have the endorsements of so many great and powerful sheriffs from around the district. I will always support the rule of law,” Cawthorn said in response to the endorsements.


An initial endorsement came from Sheriff George H. Erwin, Jr. (retired) of Henderson County. Since his endorsement, Erwin has continued to support Cawthorn by sharing his support of the Henderson County native and lifelong resident with other law enforcement officials throughout District 11.


“It is a distinct honor and privilege for me to endorse Madison Cawthorn for congress,” Erwin said in a press release. “John Quincy Adams said, ‘If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.’ Madison inspires others. We need him in Congress!” (You can read Erwin’s full endorsement statement here)


Cawthorn said he is “honored and humbled” to receive endorsements from such highly respected leaders of Western North Carolina.


“I’m grateful for Sheriff Erwin’s trust and support and look forward to representing all of the people of the 11th District, regardless of their background,” Cawthorn said.


Since Erwin’s initial endorsement, the following WNC Sheriffs have offered their endorsement to the “Cawthorn Public Safety Team”:


Sheriff Lowell Griffin of Henderson County said: “Madison Cawthorn has proven that he is a tenacious fighter. His youthful energy and desire to serve the public, coupled with his conservative values, make him the right person to represent the great people of Western North Carolina.”


To date, others include: Sheriff Bobby Deese of Clay County; Sheriff Joseph Jones of Graham County; Sheriff Tim Wright of Polk County; Sheriff Curtis Cochran of Swain County; Sheriff David Mahoney of Transylvania County; Sheriff Gary Banks of Yancey County and Sheriff Kermit Banks (retired) of Yancey County.


Also, endorsing Cawthorn are retired chiefs of police Bill Hollingsed of Waynesville and Gene Ray of Biltmore Forest.